Hotel*** Le Vert Galant La Flèche

Hotel*** Le Vert Galant La Flèche

 

Home > The hotel

History of the hotel

A bit of history.
 
Le Vert Galant is located on the emplacement of the Château de Fouquet de la Varenne, destroyed after the Revolution, of which one wing is still visible nearby (public parking space facing the outbuilding). The hotel used to be a coaching inn, held by Louise d’Estournelles de Constant during the second third of the 19th century. It is also the birth home of Paul d’Estournelles de Constant, her grandson, who received the Nobel Prize for peace in 1909.
 
At the start of the 20th century, Eugène ROUSSE holds a grocery shop at the same location. In 1920, the cinema Le Palace is created by M. Louis Paris, at the back of the courtyard. Mr. PRAT (son) buys the place in 1925 to make it his home, while the shop houses the first Peugeot garage of La Flèche, between 1932 and 1934. At this time, father PRAT, who already owned the cinema, opens the hotel and restaurant. In 1938 Le Vert Galant is sold to Mr. KOSTINGER who manages the place until 1960.

From 1960 to 1978, Mr. Gérard CHAMPION becomes the owner of the hotel, followed by his son, Jean-Marie BERGER CHAMPION, until 2004. In 1986, the cinema Le Palace closes after the roof fell down because of the weight of snow.

 
The renovation of the hotel starts in 2004. The restaurant closes and Le Vert Galant will become a hotel. Since June 2005, after 10 months of works, Le Vert Galant offers 21 rooms as well as many facilities and services as you can discover today. During the year 2006, the quality of the services allows the hotel to obtain the label of "qualité-tourisme". In March 2007, the hotel gets its 3rd star. In 2011, LE VERT GALANT is sold to Mr. and Mrs. CHOISNET, who continue the same quality of welcoming as the previous owners. New extension works are undertaken in 2012, with four new rooms, taking the number of rooms to 26.
 
 
 

Downlodable Documents

Hôtel*** Le Vert Galant La Flèche

Hôtel*** Le Vert Galant La Flèche

 

Accueil > L'hôtel

Histoire de l'hôtel

Un peu d’histoire.
 
Le Vert Galant est placé sur le château de Fouquet de la Varenne, démoli après la Révolution, dont un pavillon est toujours visible à proximité (parking public face à l’Annexe). L’établissement a tout d’abord été un Relais de Poste à lettres tenu durant le deuxième tiers du XIXe siècle par Louise d’Estournelles de Constant. C’ est également la maison natale de Paul d’Estournelles de Constant, son petit fils, qui a reçu en 1909 le Prix Nobel de la paix.
 
Au début du XXe siècle, Eugène ROUSSE y tient une épicerie de gros. En 1920, le cinéma Le Palace voit le jour dans l’arrière cour grâce à M. Louis Paris. M. PRAT (fils) achète en 1925 l’établissement qui lui sert de maison d’habitation tandis que le fond de commerce accueille le premier garage Peugeot fléchois entre 1932 et 1934. A cette époque, le père de M. PRAT qui avait déjà le cinéma, ouvre par la suite l’hôtel et le restaurant. Le Vert Galant est ensuite vendu à M. KOSTINGER en 1938 qui poursuit la restauration jusqu’en 1960.
 
De 1960 à 1978, M. Gérard CHAMPION devient propriétaire de l’établissement suivi de son fils, Jean-Marie BERGER CHAMPION, jusqu’en 2004. En 1986, le cinéma Le Palace ferme ses portes suite à l’effondrement de son toit sous le poids de la neige.
 
En 2004 la rénovation de l’établissement commence. Le restaurant ferme ses portes et Le Vert Galant se transforme en hôtel. Depuis juin 2005, après 10 mois de travaux, Le Vert Galant propose 21 chambres ainsi que de nombreux services tels que vous pouvez apprécier aujourd’hui. Au cours de l’année 2006, la qualité des prestations proposées permet d’obtenir le label «  qualité-tourisme  » décerné par l’Etat. Enfin, en mars 2007, l’établissement obtient sa 3ème étoile. En 2011, le VERT GALANT est cédé à Mr et Mme CHOISNET, qui perpétuent la qualité du bien-recevoir cher à tous les anciens propriétaires. De nouveaux travaux d’agrandissement sont entrepris en 2012 et quatre nouvelles chambres voient le jour portant le nombre de chambres à 26.